Southwest Economic Development District

The Southwest Region of Utah is designated as an Economic Development District by the United States Economic Development Administration. The purpose of this designation is to promote a coordinated, region wide approach to the economic development efforts of local governments in Southwest Utah. For over 40 years, the Five County Association of Governments has served Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane and Washington Counties by providing strategic assistance with area wide efforts.

The goal of economic development is to create more resilient communities by fostering economic health and promoting a higher standard of living. This goal cannot be accomplished without addressing a multitude of key inputs including workforce development, business retention, and housing attainability. The Economic Development Team is actively working to advance economic development in the Southwest Region by conducting research and analysis, collaborating with local leaders and stakeholders, and offering policy guidance that promotes sustainable growth.

Through long range projects such as the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) and the Disaster Recovery and Resiliency Economic Development Plan (DRRE), the team seeks to plan, prepare, and partner with a diverse array of local leaders to reach their communities’ objectives. FCAOG also administers a Revolving Loan Fund, which has provided many small businesses in the region with critical access to capital. As we emerge from the historic economic downturn caused by the COVID-19 Pandemic, we are committed to support the regions economic recovery and remain dedicated to our mission to strengthen the Southwest Utah economic landscape.